Cream of Italy: a cultural history of espresso coffee

Today I had the opportunity to support a local leacturer from Newcastle University with a coffee related project. This is the first time I have been asked to help with any event like this and I was extremely honoured to be even considered. Claudia Baldoli is degree Programme Director, MA in European History at Newcastle University and has recently been involved in the Cappuccino Conquests project. The Cappuccino Conquests research Project was a study of the transnational history of Italian coffee. The project ran from September 2004 to February 2007 as part of the Cultures of Consumption Research Programme. It traced the history of Italian style coffee drinks from the evolution of espresso in the 1900s through to the global popularity of cappuccino and caffè latte today.

I was approached by Claudia a couple of months ago asking if I would like to support a lecture that she was on as part of the Insights project.

(Claudia)

We set up a bar outside the lecture hall and served everyone a free espresso. I don’t think I’ve ever served as many people an espresso as I did today and I’m sure I’ll never see a line for just espresso like that again.

Thank you for the opportunity to support you Claudia. I’m always up for that sort of event if you have a need in the future. Great lecture and a great dinner afterwards. I’ll certainly take you up on that tour of Milan, Keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

